Bobby G's footblog

Keep a diary of what you're hitting, what's frustrating you, and your goals.
bobgreen
Multidex Master

Bobby G's footblog

Post by bobgreen » 13 May 2014 18:16

Well, it seems that 2014 is the year to return to footbag if you’ve been having some time off. Who am I to say that is wrong when it just feels so right.

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a footblog for a while, so here goes.

My name is Bob Green, and this time around I’ve been playing regularly since November 2013. In the before time, I played quite a bit in the late nineties and the early to mid oughts. Quite unintentionally, I drifted away from footbag around 2005, which coincidentally is the year my son Ruari was born. What shit do you throw down you might wonder? Well that isn’t so impressive given the time I’ve spent playing, but I can grow a glorious red beard so I have that going for me. I know a lot of you can link fearless and some beastly, but how many of you can grow a bushy red Amish, Taliban, lumberjack beard? That is beastly in its own way.

I guess it is bad form to not say something about what you are working on in your footblog, so I am mostly working on trying to get decently long tiltless strings on a consistent basis again, and also working on adding some interesting 3’s to the mix. Last weekend some of the trick highlights were whirl BSOS, pdx illusion BSOS, and diving clipper > pdx illusion. Prior to my 8 year break I was pretty consistent at whirl, but I am just getting them back now and pdx illusion is kind of brand new for me in general. I said it wasn’t so impressive, but it doesn’t matter so much because I’m having fun just playing again. Not to sound like I don’t care...I actually am putting quite a bit of effort into playing well, but at this stage I also really need to focus on having fun and not getting pissed off when things don’t come as quickly as I’d like.