Ryan's Footblog: JOULUKALENTERI 2018!

Keep a diary of what you're hitting, what's frustrating you, and your goals.
Ryan_Morris
Multidex Master

Ryan's Footblog: JOULUKALENTERI 2018!

Post by Ryan_Morris » 18 Aug 2013 20:48

I've been playing footbag for almost two years, and my friends have finally convinced me to make one of these.

Who I am:
Ryan is my name. Footbag is my game.
I am a member of the PSU footbag club and am currently a resident of the "Shred House," which is Nick Polini and Nate Pipenberg's old apartment.

My progress so far:
Legover (still stabs me in the back sometimes)
Pickup (tries to be like legover, but he's basically my bitch)
Clipper (he's house trained, but still a bit rough around the edges)
- Clipper to both of the above
Mirage (we used to hate each other, now we're bros)
- Paradox
Illusion (recent addition to the group)
- Paradox
Butterfly (in the sky, I can go twice as high...)
- same-side (I think that's what it's called)
Osis (very inconsistent)
Ducking, stepping, and a few other tricky things have been sighted, but all of them were filmed by the same guys who brought you Bigfoot and the Lock Ness Monster. That is to say, if they do exist in my game, they are quite rare.

The plan:
I do a lot of drilling, so I'm getting pretty decent at repeating a few tricks over and over. I still struggle to string things together and just make it up as I go. I intend to kick at least every other day and jog on the days in between to develop my cardiovascular strength. Let's see how quickly that goes out the window.

My mentors and motivators:
Nick Polini got me hooked on the sport with his unrelenting enthusiasm and encouragement. He and I have some distinctive similarities in our style, and so he has been able to give me a lot of very relevant help.
Nate Pipenberg is the best footbagger I know personally. Often times, when I get stuck trying to learn a new trick, I imagine myself as him. It actually works, kind of!