AdAstra's Footblog: Hopefully be back soon

Keep a diary of what you're hitting, what's frustrating you, and your goals.
AdAstra
Multidex Master

AdAstra's Footblog: Hopefully be back soon

Post by AdAstra » 23 Aug 2015 14:50

Hi all, my name is Austin and I'm from the Lexington, KY, USA area. As of this post I'm super new to freestyle. Before discovering freestyle I just circle kicked whenever I got the chance. Now that I've come to know this new dimension I've been hopelessly hooked on the sport.

While I am a noob currently I plan to get much better over the next year. I'm a quick learner and have a rather athletic body type, both of which I hope will help. I do think I will be limited at times, though, because of time constraints and a previously injured right ankle. Nonetheless I am determined to get better at the sport.

At the moment I can hit the following tricks with relative consistency:

•Around the World [2 adds] (right side)
•Clipper [2 adds] (right side)
•Pixie [2 adds] (right side)

I'm still new, though, so I will continue to perfect these tricks and work on my left side ATW and Pixie. I'm going to leave the left side Clipper for another time, as I am currently working on improving my right ankle's flexibility. It would be near impossible to hit with my current status. Any ankle stretch ideas would be appreciated.

The bags I currently have are in the photo below:

The bags are:
•Mr. Sandbag blue/silver
•Eclipse-32 red/yellow from Dragonfly (not a fan)
•Generic knitted bag
•Custom 32-panel gray/orange from Mike Wilson

(Shoutout to Mr. Wilson, love the bag!)

P.S. For anyone wondering, Ad Astra means "To the stars" in Latin, part of a favorite phrase of mine.

Edit:

Running list of places I have footbagged:
Lexington, KY, USA
Natural Bridge, KY, USA
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Boston, MA, USA
Washington, D.C., USA
Copenhagen, Denmark
Oslo, Norway
Aruba
Curaçao
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos